I meant to publish this a few weeks back, but the holidays got the best of me.

My husband had a “milestone birthday” this year and to celebrate it I suggested a weekend centered around one of his favorite pastimes – golf.  Seeing that I would be in my final trimester of pregnancy during this time I suggested going to Palm Desert for his birthday (an hour & a half drive) and inviting family & friends to play some golf and enjoy the desert.

We decided to do something we had never done before – we rented a house via the website VRBO.com.  VRBO is short for Vacation Rental By Owner.  I had suggested the website to a friend who subsequently  rented a house in Carmel for our wedding via the website, and the experience had been a huge success…so I figured, why not?!

The house we rented in La Quinta was amazing! Located right on a driving range of a PGA West course it was every golf aficionado’s dream.  The added benefit for those not golfng (like yours truly) were that the pool and kitchen were an entertainers dream.  I would definitely rent this particular property again and use VRBO.

There were some pros and cons to renting a vacation house:

Pros:

  • Privacy
  • A central place for all of your guests to congregate
  • No need to go out for meals or entertainment
  • Great if you have small children
  • Some properties allow pets without extra charge (no boarding fees = savings!)

Cons:

  • Putting a deposit down far in advance
  • Final payment due 45  days before arrival
  • You never know what small appliances will be there or what the condition of linens, kitchen items etc. are before you get there (we were pleasantly surprised!)
  • You take a leap of faith relying only on pictures and reviews before signing on the dotted line

We have often talked about buying a vacation house, but this is such a great option and we can head to a different locale every time!

