Baby A started eating solid foods last week. We started with an organic brown rice cereal by HAPPY BELLIES , which contains probiotics and DHA.  I bought a wonderful baby food cookbook called The Petit Appetit Cookbook, and have started making purees from organic fruit.  I am deeply concerned about what passes baby’s lips and into her belly; doing research to find the healthiest options.

But what about what passes my lips?  Those starchy garlic fries certainly were tasty enough to make me smack my lips and lick my fingers…and what about that creamy brie?  Good God! that steak and glass of Pinot Noir were deeelish! But I’ve stopped losing the baby weight, I’m swollen, and generally don’t feel tip top.  What I am trying to say is I spend a lot of time worrying about my baby’s health and nutrition and it has inspired me to take a hard look at my health and what I put into my body .

I recently stopped breastfeeding and no longer have excuses to indulge in the extra calorie intake (Cupcake?  That’s okay, I’m breastfeeding… I’ll burn it off !  C’mon you know you’ve had this inner dialogue).   I’ve decided a 3 day juice cleanse is just the ticket to rebooting my tired, bloated, and creaky body.

I’ve been poking around online for a few weeks and found several companies that will overnight their organic pre-made juice to you….but at the tune of $260 I abandoned the shopping cart.  I found a company that also sells DIY book if you were unable to order their juices.  Touted as the “Juice Cleanse for Foodies”, the BluePrintCleanse certainly piqued my interest.  If I can do this cleanse without gagging on sludge, that is what I want to do!

3 Day Cleanse by BluePrintCleanse Founders Zoe Sakoutis & Erica Huss

The 3 Day Cleanse promises amazing benefits, “…you will understand the difference between feeling full and feeling nourished. You’ll weigh less, brim with more energy, and look and feel sexier!”  Damn, if I can have those things after having a baby sign me up!  I’m not only doing this to lose the excess baggage post baby, but for other health reasons.  According to studies sited in the book periodic fasting has amazing health benefits including, decreased inflammation of tissue  and greater mental clarity;  and long term, a decreased likelihood of heart disease and type 2 diabetes.  It is recommended to do a 3 day cleanse once a month or even a 1 day cleanse after an evening of overindulgence.

What I like about this cleanse is that it doesn’t appear to be overly strict, setting me up for feelings of disappointment or failure if I don’t follow the program to a T.  I hope this 3 Day Cleanse is as delicious and satiating as it claims so I can stick to it!  More on my progress later!

